Things to do in London – December

DecemberEach month, I scour the web to find the best and most unique things to spend your free weekends doing in the big smoke! This month – its all about Christmas obvs.

1. Outdoor Ice Skating: This is something that I did a couple of years ago now. There’s just something about ice skating outdoors around fairy lights and christmas trees that just gets everyone festive even if they aren’t much of a Christmas person. Previously, I’ve ice skated next to the Tower of London, this year; I’m thinking the Natural History Museum. Somerset House seems to be the most popular and is pretty much booked up already so perhaps plan that one for next year! Book tickets here.

2. London Architecture Walks: Again, something that I’ve experienced before. A training architect guides you around all the Christmas lights through the streets of London starting in Trafalgar Square. It’s something a little bit different but is an amazing thing to learn about – you even feel like a little bit of an expert by the time you’re finished! I went on this tour at least 2 years ago and I still remember the facts today! Plus the tour guide was so lovely! Find out more here, tickets are £15pp and well worth it. It is something that does get booked up fairly quickly so be quick!

3. The Enchanted Woodland: If you can’t tell already, I really enjoy wandering and exploring places. Which is why, I was completely sucked in by the pretty lights of the Enchanted Woodland at Syon Park. All the gardens are lit up with lights and you could end up wandering around for hours exploring. I think it’s perfect for those wanting to get out of London for a little bit – but hurry because its only on until the 7th December! Find out more here, the nearest tube stop is Kew Gardens and it is £7 a ticket.

4. Craft Day making your own Christmas Crackers: I love a bit of craft now and again, I’ve even challenged myself to either make or personalise all my Christmas presents this year! So to get the ball rolling, I’m going to attend the ‘A Cracking Wallace Christmas! at Wallace Collection’ and even better – it’s completely free! You get to make your own Christmas crackers – this may be targeted at little kids but I am a child at heart! Find out more here.

5. Winter Wonderland at Hyde Park: How could I not mention this. My first Christmas in London,  I feel that I should go to the Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park. I’ve had a few friends go now and they all love it. But Victoria Park is also having its own ‘Winterville’ if you prefer the alternative. I comes complete with a Town Square, a Market Place, Downtown areas, a pop up pantomime, a mini nightlcub, live music, comedy, cabaret and a bunch of food stalls. Need I go on?

Leave a Reply

