Things to Do – April

April

With April just around the corner, I’m looking forward to the Spring weather and all the bank holidays included too! Here’s my top things I hope to be doing over the next month to see the lighter days in.

Unseen Tours: Since it’s lighter in the evenings, I really want to do more things after work exploring the City and what better way to do that than to go on a walking tour of an area in London. However Unseen tours come with a twist, each tour guide is either homeless or has been homeless in the past and with Unseen Tours they are able to share their own stories and the history of the streets that they have potentially lived on. There are loads of tours in London and if you had to do just one, this would be the one I chose for the individuality and the inside stories you get to hear. Tickets are £10 for adults and they have tours in Covent Garden, Brick lane, Shoreditch, Camden and London Bridge. For more information click here.

Just in case you hadn’t clocked yet, Easter weekend is only 5 days way from the time I’m writing this. Most Easter related events are aimed at children but this doesn’t mean to say I don’t want to have some fun too, so I’ve been trying to find some events adapted for the 20 year old plus kids of the world like me and I think I’ve found it in the form of Rabble Easter Egg Hunt. Apparently, for this hunt you need stealth, strategy and speed in order to be successful. Expect dodgeball and ‘quid ditch’ style games as opposed to the gentle run around! More information can be found here.

The other favourite thing about Easter is the long 4 day weekend, I value 4 days off immensely and it feels like a lot longer than just 4 days! Given that we have extra time to usual, I recommend taking this opportunity to get out of the big smock and head to the outskirts of London and even venture outside the M25. My top pick is Windsor, it is a beautiful town with lots of little shops and bags of character without forgetting the big park that is simply stunning! You can get to Windsor from London Paddington in just half an hour so there really isn’t any excuse not to go!

Since the days are getting lighter, I plan on working earlier and finishing earlier so that I have more time to explore the City after work. And to do this I also want to improve my photography skills so that I know what all of the buttons on my camera do apart from the auto button! Therefore I’ve been looking for photography day courses that aren’t ridicicuously expensive. I’m still doing my research but have found this one so far which seems the best of the bunch. More information here.

The final thing I’ll be doing this month is getting myself down to watch the London marathon with my own eyes instead of watching it on TV. I’ve always secretly wanted to take part in the marathon and perhaps seeing it for real will either persuade me to sign up there and then or put me off it for life!

Whatever you do in April – make sure you enjoy the warmer weather.

Leave a Reply

