Monthly Challenges

I’ve come to realise that I love having projects on the go outside of work and this is something that I’ve struggled with since moving to London. My first desire would be to completely redecorate the house I’m living in and buy lots of new furniture and do it up but since I’m in rented accommodation, this isn’t so easy. I also get bored of doing the same thing for long periods of time so I thought of setting myself a monthly challenge each month. Something completely different to the next. In March, I decided to challenge myself with watching a different TED talk each day, of you don’t know what a TED talk is a global conference with the main aim to spread ‘ideas worth spreading’ usually in the form of short powerful speeches by a range of different people. These topics can stretch from social entrepreneurship to science to ways of living. So over my 30 odd videos that I’ve watched I thought it would be great to share some of the great ideas I’ve watched over the last month.

1.  Hackschooling makes me happy Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h11u3vtcpaY

Hackschooling

A 13 year old Logan LaPlante talks about what he wants to be when he grows up. He talks about his hack schooling, a new way to learn and achieve his goal in life. It’s a really interesting way to think about living that’s really easy to take bits and add into your own life. One of the things that Logan talks about is spending at least one day a week outside all day, something that makes me happy.

2. Kelly McGonigal: How to make stress your friend Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RcGyVTAoXEU

stress firned

An interesting talk to listen to especially right now when the amount of responsibility I’m getting at work is beginning to increase more and more as I’m no longer seen as the new grad and I’m beginning to be expected to work at the same level as everyone else in the office. It talks about how stress is a good thing and not a bad thing, there’s even some scientific proof so definitely a good video to watch!

3. Simon Sinek – Start With Why: Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPYeCltXpxw

Simon Sinek - Start With Why

This is a cut down version of the talk but it communicates the key idea so well. I’m naturally interested in this since I’ve always had a love for marketing and communication. It’s what I love most about TED talks – extremely simple and obvious once you’ve watched it!

Leave a Reply

