Making time for sport

Trainersongrass

Now that the days are getting lighter and I’m feeling like doing more after work, I’ve been really wanting to do more exercise. I’ve always loved sport at school and university, and realised that I was starting to really miss it. I’ve been doing the weekly park run but since I’m away lots of weekends, I rarely do it 3 weeks on the trot. It made me think back to when I was doing my GCSE’s and I spent an hour doing badminton every Monday and I felt so much better about all my work after I had exercised and chilled out with friends. It’s such a little thing to do that makes such a big difference.

And the best thing of all is that it doesn’t have to cost the earth. Yes, you can join gyms for around £40 a month but I’ve managed to find something different. I’ll be honest, I’m not that into these different classes like Zumba and Pilates, I still don’t know what they are despite taking part in them both! I like sports that I get my heart buzzing instantly and I can feel the workout. so I was looking for circuit classes. And I found it with a running club, that mainly focuses on running but also has a circuits class every week. Whilst I do a bit of running, I decide to mainly use it for just the circuits class. But the best part is that it costs £8 a month for membership, so if I only take part in circuits once a week, its £2 a session. And so worth the money!

I think its much better than a gym membership because they tend to be smaller, its the same people that go every week so its just like meeting up with a group of friends to hang out. Everyone is so friendly and its something that I look forward to. And the guy who runs it, is basically like your personal trainer without the extortionate cost! So what to do to find these places? Well either do a quick google about your local area or visit http://www.getactivelondon.com. You can enter your location and sport that you’re interested in and show all the local clubs available to join!

I challenge you to join a local sports club, it’s an avenue for a stress relief, some exercise of course and a chance to meet new friends!

Leave a Reply

